What is the CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner Certification and how does it compare to the other certification available? CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP+) is the ideal certification for technical professionals who wish to remain immersed in technology as opposed to strictly managing. The CASP+ is the only certification exam that is hands-on, and performance-based. This certification exam will really test your technical ability and skill.

How does CASP+ Compare?


  CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP) (ISC)2 Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) GIAC Certified Enterprise Defender (GCED) ISACA Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)
Performance-Based Questions      
Experience Level Advanced Advanced Advanced Advanced
Exam Focus Cybersecurity Practitioner Skills Cybersecurity Management Skills Cybersecurity Practitioner Skills Cybersecurity Management Skills
Vendor Neutral Yes Yes Yes Yes


Is there any requirement that I would need to meet before I can be certified?

A minimum of ten years of experience in IT administration, including at least five years of hands-on technical security experience.  While there is no required prerequisite, CASP+ certification is intended to follow Security+ and CySA+ or equivalent experience.

What you need to prepare for

The CASP+ certification validates advanced-level competency in risk management; enterprise security operations and architecture; research and collaboration; and integration of enterprise security. Successful candidates will have the knowledge required to:

  • Enterprise Security domain expanded to include operations and architecture concepts, techniques, and requirements
  • More emphasis on analyzing risk through interpreting trend data and anticipating cyber-defense needs to meet business goals
  • Expanding security control topics to include Mobile and small form factor devices, as well as software vulnerability
  • Broader coverage of integrating cloud and virtualization technologies into a secure enterprise architecture
  • Inclusion of implementing cryptographic techniques, such as Blockchain- Cryptocurrency and Mobile device encryption


CompTIA requires that CASP+ certification holders renew their credential every three years. Renewal can be achieved in three ways:

  • Pass the most current version of the CASP+ certification exam.
  • Pass a higher-level CompTIA or non-CompTIA certification exam
  • Earn continuing education units (CEUs) by participating in qualified activities, such as publishing an article or white paper, obtaining another industry certification, or attending a relevant conference or event.


CASP+ is compliant with ISO 17024 standards and approved by the US DoD to meet directive 8140/8570.01-M requirements. Regulators and government rely on ANSI accreditation because it provides confidence and trust in the outputs of an accredited program. Over 1.3 million CompTIA ISO/ANSI-accredited exams have been delivered since January 1, 2011.

– Cynthia Lee

[the_ad id=”17851″]



Oh hi there 👋 It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every month.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Cynthia Lee

Master Certified Life Coach | Certified Confidence Coach | Mother | Daughter | Sister | Friend | Speaker | Podcast Host | Superwoman

Recommended Articles

%d bloggers like this: